More Milk

One of the great things about regonal instability is the plumiting costs of flights. While my winged monkeys tell me nothing much happened in Cham on Syrias day of revolution I was in Aleppo picking Chris up and introducing him to the middle east so I dont really know.
A friend whos thing is religious groups and who has fantastic Arabic argues that Syrias religious tollerence is inforced by the regime and if Assad fell the secatarian differences could be exploited by a minoratie to create some serious Iraq type trouble. This is not what the majoraty want, so they are happy to continue with Basher.
Certainly it dosn’t look to me like people want to get rid of him, and none of my friends think that Syrians want him out, or certainly not enough o do what the Egyptians have done, and to pay the price they’ve paid.
However Chris and I are in Hama, having visited Halb and St Semyons, and its an odd place to museing n the regimes popularaty. Nice parks right in the city center for a reason thats not 100% happy, nice water weels.

About adventuresinarabic

I'm studying Arabic in Damascus, living through the Arab Spring and blogging about my experiences hear.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

