Intresting facts about Arabic

Traditionaly the bedu have been able to select one of about 1000 words for theire camal depending on its age, sex condition, weather its pregnant (and if so how pregnant), and wether its any good as a camal. In ‘Arabian Sands’ Thisinger spends a lot of time failing to lern them. He also spends alot of time lamenting the fact that the advent of 4×4 not only heralded the death of this vocabulary, but the knowlage that that vocabulary contained. the are a mere 50 words for ‘date’.

Bertrand Russel once claimed ‘life is too short to learn Arabic.’

The is no future tense in Arabic.

the average English tabloid reader has an active vocabulary of 3000 words. An Arab of the equivalent socioeconomic and educational background uses around 10,000 words on a day to day basis.

I cannot think of a fith intresting fact.

Author: adventuresinarabic

I'm studying Arabic in Damascus, living through the Arab Spring and blogging about my experiences hear.

2 thoughts on “Intresting facts about Arabic”

    1. I’m glad you appreciate my pain. Thes this Iranian (and bare in mind fasi is written in the arabic script) guy in my class who keeps on telling me and my friend Lekia, who’s struggling even more than me, ‘its not hard.’ why he thinks this will help or make us feel better I don’t know.

      I promise never to say your studying french again. Enjoy the SWCC weekend and take care of yourself. I hope your enjoying poplar row.

Leave a Reply

