‘If paradise be on earth, it is, without a doubt, Damascus; but if it be in Heven Damascus is its counterpart on earth’

Ibn Jubair, 12 centuary.

The weather is absolutely perfect. you could ware a little summer dress and not be too cold, or jeans and not be too hot. I’ve been going over my Arabic lessons sat outside various old city coffee shops, drinking small sweet cups of coffee and watching the city happen. Some of them have courtyards with fountains and jasmine, away from the day to day bustle of life.
Then I take my Arabic back to my house, sit on the balcony and go over it again, wondering whether I’m ever going to be able to remember the word for ’round object.’ I have particular difficulty with that one.

About adventuresinarabic

I'm studying Arabic in Damascus, living through the Arab Spring and blogging about my experiences hear.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to ‘If paradise be on earth, it is, without a doubt, Damascus; but if it be in Heven Damascus is its counterpart on earth’

  1. Nathan says:

    I have never felt the need to say, “round object” in my entire life, so I think you should skip that part.

    At least it isn’t a stupid as Japanese, where the words for 1, 2, 3 etc. vary, depending on the type of object you are counting – one set for “flat things” another for “clothes”, one for people, another for animals etc.. They change too – a pair of socks is counted one way if it’s on your feet, but if you lay them out flat on the bed, you count them another.

    You should adapt the old adage, “why learn Arabic; English was good enough for God”.

    Child Harold: http://picasaweb.google.com/108433299976817692535/ElizabethCW#5526681476964557138

  2. Nathan says:

    I meant “childe”.

    n

    • oliinarabic says:

      I have problems beliving that
      any woman would allow you to impregnate her
      the Nathen who trows rocks at slow riggers is sharing his baby photos
      anything half way cute could be assoseated with you.

      Glad shes well. I assume that everything is good in your corner of Scotland.

  3. Rosie says:

    Isn’t it a bit early for you to be learning the word for ’round object’? Shouldn’t they be teaching you things like bread, water, and ‘how do I get to…?’ first?

    • oliinarabic says:

      I also know the words for such essental day to day words as ‘dog’ (ok, thoreticaly i know the word for ‘dog’) ‘small dog’ (jarou, its compleatly different from the word for ‘dog’) ‘low fence’ (soff) ‘soard’ (saef) and ‘tiger’ (namir).

      I am waiting for the day that I’m taught ‘I would like’ (the single most usefull phrase in foreign languges) ‘please’ (pretty self explanatory) or ‘stop the coach, the postilian has been struck by lightning’

      bread is h’obs btw.

      I’m struggling with the alphabet, and its hard to motivate myself to study when i’m not lerning anything that will help me comunicate.

      • Rosie says:

        Sword and tiger? Don’t tell the Daily Mail, they’ll assume you’re going to school in Osama BL’s secret Syrian training camp.

        Can the people you know who are better at Arabic than you teach you the everyday essentials? How do you buy food without them??!!

      • oliinarabic says:

        Yeah, they are teaching me essential words and phrases, like ‘I don’t understand,’ which I know in dialect and posh. It figures in my active vocabulary, unlike pretty much anything I lernt at the Mahad.

Leave a Reply

